Sustainable gold

Green gold? / Image credit: Own collage - Background: Unsplash

Trend responsible gold

In the meantime, the precious metals industry is also becoming increasingly aware of sustainability and is concerned about the ecological and social consequences of gold mining and processing.

While various approaches are designed to make gold mining more sustainable, it is primarily scrap gold recycling that makes the precious metal environmentally, socially and climate friendly.

Problematic primary gold from mines

Most of the gold in demand worldwide comes from gold mines. Approximately 3,600 tons of primary gold are extracted in mines worldwide every year. When you consider that an average of 1,000 tons of rock have to be moved for 2-3 grams of gold, it quickly becomes clear how much gold extraction in mines affects the environment.

Open pit mine - Image credit: Matthew de Livera / Unsplash

Most of the gold mined is extracted from the earth by large-scale miners, with about 20 percent coming from small-scale mining.

Especially this primary gold or the mining of the precious metal brings ecological and social problems.

While the large mining corporations extract hundreds of thousands of tons of rock every day and the huge mines thus eat into the landscape, the small mines also bring many problems with them: Such "Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining" (ASM) involves small, mostly informal, sometimes also illegal mines, which are operated by individuals, small groups or cooperatives. Even though these small-scale mines help many people in developing countries to earn an income, environmental pollution, poor working conditions and child labor are often on the agenda.

Green gold: Ecologically extracted precious metal

When mining the precious metal, toxic chemicals are used to wash the gold out of the ore. Mercury and cyanide in particular are used. Without the necessary standards, these substances enter the environment and poison drinking water, soil and food.

In the meantime, however, there are also ways of effectively extracting gold from gold-bearing rock using non-toxic substances - certain sulfur compounds or types of glucose.

Green or ecological gold is the term used to describe primary gold, the extraction of which does not involve the use of environmental toxins.

Fair gold: gold mining without exploitation

Initiatives such as Fairmined, Fairtrade Gold, or the Association for Fair and Responsible Gold are designed to ensure that certain environmental and social standards are met in the mining of gold.

Clear rules for this fair gold ensure that the precious metal is extracted without child labor, that workers are paid fairly, and that appropriate safety and environmental standards are met.

The operators receive premiums for this and the guarantee to be able to sell certain quantities for a minimum price.

Climate-friendly gold thanks to recycling

The mining of gold also has an impact on the climate. If you look at thecarbon footprint, there are significant differences depending on the origin of the gold.

With 30 tons ofCO2 per kilogram of gold, the extraction of primary gold in mines is climate-intensive. By contrast, extracting 1 kilogram of gold from electronic scrap emits only 1 ton ofCO2.

Recycling scrap gold(jewelry, dental gold, broken gold...) produces about 50 kilograms ofCO2 per kilogram of gold. And the German refinery C.HAFNER even comes to only 29 kilograms ofCO2 per kilogram of gold according to its own data.

The Belgian company Umicore, both a recycling company and a refinery, states that instead of 200 tons of ore, only 4 tons of old cell phones are needed as raw material for a 1 kg gold bar. Silver, platinum and other metals can also be recovered in this climate-friendly way.

Nevertheless, precious metal recycling of e-waste is still in its infancy. While almost 100 percent of old gold from jewelry is recycled, only about 45 percent of electrical appliances in the EU ever find their way into the recycling loop.

Recycle gold and earn money

When you sell your old gold at Gold & Co, you not only get a good price for your scrap gold, you also actively contribute to a sustainable circular economy. The precious metal can be recycled as often as you like without any loss of quality.

"From WWF's point of view, much of today's gold mining is unnecessary, much more recycled gold could be used. Gold from old jewelry, dental gold or electronic scrap is a sensible alternative to mine gold; gold from jewelry, for example, can already be easily recycled today."
- WWF Germany

Currently, about 30% of the gold processed annually comes from gold purchase and electrical equipment recycling. The recovered precious metal is then processed into new jewelry, used as an industrial material, or becomes bullion coins and bars.

Buy sustainable gold

If you would like to buy sustainable and fair gold as an investment, we at Gold & Co have the right products in our range.

The German refinery C. HAFNER is considered one of the pioneers in terms ofCO2 avoidance and compensation and was the first manufacturer worldwide to establish aCO2 neutral refining process. For this purpose, C. HAFNER exclusively processes recycled gold.

C.Hafner | 1 ounce | cast ingot 2.242,90 

The Heimerle + Meule refinery in Pforzheim, Germany, also does not process primary gold, but relies 100% on recycled gold.

Heimerle & Meule | 10 Gram | Gold Bar 735,60 

Under the name Auropelli Gold Bars, the Swiss manufacturer Valcambi produces "Responsible Gold", where the entire value chain from the gold mine to the finished gold bar is traceable and which meets the strictest environmental, health and safety standards.

Umicore 's precious metal bars can also be described as sustainable, as the recycling and refining company is one of the industry's pioneers in terms of sustainability.

Fine silver Umicore 250 gram
Umicore | 250 Gram | Differential Taxed | Silver Bar 256,50 

You want to buy or sell fair trade gold?

Come now to one of our branches in Vienna for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation.
Our branches
Online Shop

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Nachhaltiges Gold

Grünes Gold? / Bildnachweis: Eigene Collage - Hintergrund: Unsplash

Trend verantwortungsvolles Gold

Mittlerweile entsteht auch in der Edelmetallbranche vermehrt ein Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit und man macht sich um die ökologischen und sozialen Folgen der Goldgewinnung und -verarbeitung Gedanken.

Während verschiedene Ansätze den Goldabbau in Minen nachhaltiger gestalten sollen, ist es vor allem das Altgold-Recycling, das das Edelmetall umweltfreundlich, sozial und klimafreundlich macht.

Problematisches Primärgold aus Minen

Der Großteil des weltweit nachgefragten Goldes stammt aus dem Abbau in Goldminen. Weltweit werden jährlich circa 3.600 Tonnen Primärgold in Minen gefördert. Wenn man bedenkt, dass für 2-3 Gramm Gold durchschnittlich 1.000 Tonnen Gestein bewegt werden müssen, wird schnell klar, wie sehr sich der Goldgewinnung in Minen auf die Umwelt auswirkt.

Tagebaumine - Bildnachweis: Matthew de Livera / Unsplash

Der größte Teil des geförderten Goldes wird von Großbergbauunternehmen aus der Erde geholt, etwa 20 Prozent davon stammt aus dem Kleinbergbau.

Vor allem dieses Primärgold bzw. der Abbau des Edelmetalls bringt ökologische und soziale Probleme mit sich.

Während die großen Minen­konzerne tagtäglich hundert­tausende Tonnen Gestein abbauen und sich die riesigen Minen so in die Landschaft fressen, bringen auch die kleinen Minen viele Probleme mit sich:  Bei solch „Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining“ (ASM) handelt es sich um kleine, meist informelle, teilweise auch illegale Minen, die von Einzelnen, kleinen Gruppen oder Kooperativen betrieben werden. Auch wenn diese Kleinminen vielen Menschen in Entwicklungsländern zu einem Einkommen verhelfen, stehen Umweltverschmutzung, schlechte Arbeitsbedingungen und auch Kinderarbeit oft auf der Tagesordnung.

Grünes Gold: Ökologisch gewonnenes Edelmetall

Beim Abbau des Edelmetalls werden giftige Chemikalien verwendet, um das Gold aus dem Erz zu waschen. Vor allem Quecksilber und Cyanid kommen dabei zum Einsatz. Ohne die nötigen Standards gelangen diese Substanzen in die Umwelt und vergiften Trinkwasser, Böden und Lebensmittel.

Mittlerweile gibt es jedoch auch Möglichkeiten mit ungiftigen Stoffen – bestimmten Schwefelverbindungen oder Glukose-Arten – effektiv Gold aus goldhaltigem Gestein herauszulösen.

Als grünes oder ökologisches Gold, bezeichnet man daher Primärgold, bei dessen Gewinnung keine Umweltgifte eingesetzt werden.

Faires Gold: Goldgewinnung ohne Ausbeutung

Initiativen wie Fairmined, Fairtrade Gold oder die Association for Fair and Responsible Gold sollen sicherstellen, dass beim Abbau von Gold gewisse Umwelt- und Sozialstan­dards eingehalten werden.

Klare Regeln für dieses faire Gold sorgen dafür, dass das Edelmetall ohne Kinderarbeit gewonnen wird, die Arbeiter fair entlohnt werden und entsprechende Sicherheits- und Umweltstandards eingehalten werden.

Die Betreiber erhalten dafür Prämien und die Garantie bestimmte Mengen für einen Mindestpreis verkaufen zu können.

Klimafreundliches Gold dank Wiederverwertung

Der Abbau von Gold wirkt sich auch auf das Klima aus. Sieht man sich den CO2-Fußabdruck an, zeigen sich je nach Herkunft des Goldes deutliche Unterschiede.

Mit 30 Tonnen CO2 pro Kilogramm Gold ist die Gewinnung von Primärgold in Minen klimaintensiv. Die Gewinnung von 1 Kilo Gold aus Elektroschrott dagegen emittiert nur 1 Tonne CO2.

Beim Recycling von Altgold (Schmuck, Zahngold, Bruchgold…) entstehen in etwa 50 Kilogramm CO2 pro Kilogramm Gold. Und die deutsche Scheideanstalt C.HAFNER kommt nach eigenen Angaben sogar auf nur 29 Kilo CO2 pro Kilogramm Gold.

Die belgische Umicore, sowohl Recyclingunternehmen als auch Scheideanstalt, gibt an, als Rohstoff für einen 1 KG Goldbarren anstatt 200 Tonnen Erz nur 4 Tonnen alter Handys zu benötigen. Auch Silber, Platin und Co könnenso klimaschonend wiedergewonnen werden.

Nichtsdestotrotz steht das Edelmetall-Recycling von Elektroschrott noch am Anfang. Denn während altes Gold aus Schmuck zu nahezu 100 Prozent recycelt wird, finden in der EU nur etwa 45% der Elektrogeräte überhaupt ihren Weg in den Recycling-Kreislauf.

Gold recyclen und Geld verdienen

Wenn Sie ihr altes Gold bei Gold & Co verkaufen, bekommen Sie nicht nur einen guten Preis für Ihr Altgold, Sie tragen auch aktiv zu einer nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft bei. Das Edelmetall kann ohne Qualitätseinbußen beliebig oft wiederverwertet werden.

„Aus Sicht des WWF ist ein Großteil des heutigen Goldabbaus unnötig, viel mehr recyceltes Gold könnte genutzt werden. Gold aus altem Schmuck, Zahngold oder Elektroschrott ist eine sinnvolle Alternative zum Minengold, Gold aus Schmuck beispielsweise lässt sich schon heute einfach recyceln.“
– WWF Deutschland

Aktuell stammen etwa 30% des jährlich verarbeiteten Goldes aus dem Goldankauf und Elektrogeräte-Recycling. Das wiedergewonnene Edelmetall wird anschließend zu neuem Schmuck verarbeitet, kommt als Industriewerkstoff zum Einsatz oder wird zu Anlagemünzen und -barren.

Nachhaltiges Gold kaufen

Möchten Sie nachhaltiges und faires Gold als Anlage kaufen, haben wir bei Gold & Co die passenden Produkte im Sortiment.

Die deutsche Scheideanstalt C. HAFNER gilt als einer der Vorreiter in Sachen CO2-Vermeidung und -Kompensation und hat als erster Hersteller weltweit einen CO2 neutralen Scheideprozess etabliert. Dazu verarbeitet C. HAFNER ausschließlich recyceltes Gold.

C.Hafner | 1 Unze | Gussbarren 2.274,00 

Auch die Scheide­anstalt Heim­erle + Meule aus dem deutschen Pforzheim verarbeitet kein Primärgold, sondern setzt zu 100% auf Recyclinggold.

Heimerle & Meule | 10 Gramm | Goldbarren 745,60 

Unter dem Namen Auropelli Goldbarren produziert der Schweizer Hersteller Valcambi „Responsible Gold“, bei dem die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Goldmine bis zum fertigen Goldbarren nachvollziehbar ist und das strengsten Umwelt-, Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsstandards genügt.

Auch die Edelmetallbarren von Umicore dürfen als nachhaltig bezeichent werden, gehört die Recycling- und Schiedeanstalt zu den Vorreitern der Branche in Sachen Nachhaligkeit.

Feinsilber Umicore 250 Gramm
Umicore | 250 Gramm | Differenzbesteuert | Silberbarren 279,80 

Sie möchten faires Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen Wien.
Unsere Filialen
Online Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge