Gold standard: Currency backed by gold

Curant coins are covered by their material value. © own image

For centuries, gold and silver were a common currency. Gold coins and silver co ins passed from hand to hand as circulation coins. The value of the coins was directly covered by their material value (curant coins).

What is the gold standard?

In the 19th century, people then moved on to other forms of gold backing. It was no longer the metal value of the coins themselves that determined the value, but the knowledge that the central bank had to exchange each coin or banknote for gold (gold convertibility).

The bottom line is that several forms of a gold standard can be identified, depending on the amount of gold actually used to "collateralize" the value.

Gold Circulation Currency: Currency that is 100% backed by gold. Either by actual gold currencies or full coverage by the central bank.

Gold core currency: In this form of the gold standard, only a percentage of the currency is covered by gold (partial coverage). The central bank does not necessarily have to hold the gold reserves to actually exchange the entire money supply in circulation into gold. However, a certain percentage must be held as a gold reserve.

Gold foreign exchange standard: Instead of covering the value of their own currency with their own gold reserves, central banks could also hold foreign exchange backed by gold. Their own currency is then only indirectly covered by gold.

A currency is thus referred to as a gold standard if it either consists directly of gold coins or if the currency can be exchanged at any time for a defined quantity of physical gold at the responsible central bank.

The great advantage of a gold standard is the high stability of gold-backed currencies. This is because the value is always linked to the gold price and the quantity of gold is naturally limited. The exchange rates between different gold-backed currencies and the confidence in such are therefore also high.

A disadvantage, on the other hand, is the lack of flexibility with regard to economic and monetary policy measures.

When was the gold standard abandoned?

After most countries had abolished the gold convertibility of their currencies in the wake of World War I, states returned to the gold standard in the 1920s. However, different economic policy developments and the crises of the 1920s and 1930s soon forced many countries to abandon the gold backing of their currencies.

U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt suspended gold convertibility in 1933 and even imposed an interim private gold ban. As a result, many other countries also abandoned gold backing for their currencies.

In the Bretton Woods system, the dollar was backed by gold. © own image

After World War II, the Bretton Woods system agreed on a system of fixed exchange rates, with the U.S. dollar acting as the reserve currency. As such, the U.S. dollar was backed by gold. One troy ounce of gold cost $35, and the Fed was obliged to exchange dollars for gold at this price at any time.

The gold standard was finally abandoned in 1971, when then U.S. President Richard Nixon declared that he was abandoning gold convertibility. And thus no longer to exchange U.S. dollars for gold.

States gold reserves

Austria's Gold Reserves © courtesy of the OeNB

Even though there is no longer a gold standard in any country in the world, virtually all central banks still hold physical gold as a currency reserve.The gold bars that the central banks have in their vaults as a gold reserve are so-called good delivery bars. These are gold bars that have to meet certain quality requirements of the London Bullion Market Association (LBMA).

Return to the gold standard?

Again and again, one hears calls for a return to the gold standard. Especially in times of high inflation or massive expansion of the money supply (quantitative easing), critics cite gold backing as a potential solution. Most economists, however, do not consider a return to the gold standard to be expedient, as such a system is too rigid for modern economies.

Recently, however, rumors surfaced that the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) were planning to introduce a common gold-backed currency to break the dollar hegemony.

Physical gold as protection against currency decline

A return to a gold-backed U.S. dollar or even the introduction of a gold-backed euro is not in sight. Nevertheless, everyone can protect themselves against a decline in value or currency by building up their own personal gold reserve.

Gold is an excellent way to hedge saved assets, is a proven form of "economic self-defense" against ongoing devaluation of their money and also outlasts currency crises (collapse of the euro).

 

Austria (florin) | 4 florin | gold coin 222,80 

We therefore advise our customers to invest about 10-20% of their assets in gold, silver, platinum and other precious metals. Not to speculate with, but as a real hedge against currency devaluation, currency decline and financial-political crises.

With an investment in precious metals you are in any case always on the safe side! Due to its limited availability, gold has been a lasting value for many centuries. You can rely on that!

You want to buy or sell gold?

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna. Or buy your personal "gold reserve" directly in our online store!
Our branches
Online Shop

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Goldstandard: Währung mit Golddeckung

Kurantmünzen sin durch ihren Materialwert gedeckt. © eigenes Bild

Jahrhundertelang waren Gold und Silber eine gängige Währung. Goldmünzen und Silbermünzen gingen als Umlaufmünzen von Hand zu Hand. Der Wert der Münzen war dabei direkt durch ihren Materialwert gedeckt (Kurantmünzen).

Was ist der Goldstandard?

Im 19. Jahrhundert ging man dann zu anderen Formen der Golddeckung über. Nicht mehr allein der Metallwert der Münzen selbst bestimmt dann den Wert, sondern das Wissen, dass die Notenbank jede Münze oder Banknote in Gold tauschen muss (Goldkonvertibilität).

Im Endeffekt lassen sich mehrere Formen eines Goldstandards festmachen, je nachdem, welche Menge an Gold tatsächlich zur „Besicherung“ des Werts eingesetzt wird.

Goldumlaufwährung: Währung, die zu 100% durch Gold gedeckt ist. Entweder durch tatsächliche Goldkurantmünzen oder eine vollständige Deckung durch die Notenbank

Goldkernwährung: Bei dieser Form des Goldstandards ist die Deckung mit Gold nur zu einem prozentualen Anteil gegeben (Teildeckung). Die Zentralbank muss nicht unbedingt die Goldbestände vorhalten, um die komplette im Umlauf befindliche Geldmenge tatsächlich in Gold zu tauschen. Ein gewisser Prozentsatz jedoch muss als Goldreserve vorgehalten werden.

Golddevisenstandard: Statt den Wert der eigenen Währung mit eigenen Goldreserven zu decken, könnten Notenbanken auch Devisen, die über eine Golddeckung verfügen, vorhalten. Die eigene Währung ist dann nur mittelbar durch Gold gedeckt.

Von einem Goldstandard spricht man also, wenn eine Währung entweder direkt aus Goldmünzen besteht oder die Währung bei der zuständigen Zentralbank jederzeit gegen eine definierte Menge physischen Goldes eingetauscht werden kann.

Der große Vorteil eines Goldstandards liegt in der hohen Stabilität goldgedeckter Währungen. Denn der Wert ist stets an den Goldpreis gekoppelt und die Menge an Gold naturgemäß beschränkt. Auch die Wechselkurse zwischen verschiedenen goldgedeckten Währungen und das Vertrauen in solche ist daher hoch.

Als Nachteil dagegen gilt die fehlende Flexibilität hinsichtlich wirtschafts- und geldpolitischer Maßnahmen.

Wann wurde der Goldstandard aufgegeben?

Nachdem die meisten Länder im Zuge des Ersten Weltkriegs die Goldkonvertibilität ihrer Währungen aufgehoben hatten, kehrten die Staaten in den 1920ern wieder zum Goldstandard zurück. Unterschiedliche wirtschaftspolitischen Entwicklungen und die Krisen der 20er und 30er zwangen viele Staaten jedoch bald auf die Deckung ihrer Währungen mit Gold aufzuheben.

US-Präsident Franklin D. Roosevelt setzte die Goldkonvertibilität 1933 aus, und verfügte sogar ein zwischenzeitliches privates Goldverbot. Infolgedessen lösten sich auch zahlreiche andere Staaten von der Golddeckung ihrer Währungen.

Im Bretton-Woods-System war der Dollar mit Gold gedeckt. © eigenes Bild

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg einigte man sich im Bretton-Woods-System auf ein System fester Wechselkurse, wobei der US-Dollar als Leitwährung fungieren sollte. Als solche war der US-Dollar mit Gold gedeckt. Eine Feinunze Gold kostete 35 Dollar und die US-Notenbank Fed war verpflichtet, jederzeit Dollar zu diesem Preis gegen Gold einzutauschen.

Endgültig aufgehoben wurde der Goldstandard 1971, als der damalige US-Präsident Richard Nixon erklärte, die Goldkonvertibilität aufzuheben. Und damit nicht länger US-Dollar gegen Gold zu tauschen.

Goldreserven der Staaten

Österreichs Goldreserven © mit freundlicher Genehmigung der OeNB

Auch wenn es heute in keinem Land der Erde mehr einen Goldstandard mehr gibt, halten dennoch quasi alle Zentralbanken physisches Gold als Währungsreserve.Die Goldbarren, die die Notenbanken als Goldreserve in ihren Tresoren liegen haben, sind sogenannte Good-Delivery-Barren. Goldbarren also, die gewisse Qualitätsanforderungen der London Bullion Market Association (LBMA) erfüllen müssen.

Rückkehr zum Goldstandard?

Immer wieder vernimmt man Rufe nach einer Rückkehr zum Goldstandard. Besonders in Zeiten hoher Inflation oder massiver Ausweitung der Geldmenge (Quantitive Easing) führen Kritiker eine Golddeckung als potenzielle Lösung an. Die meisten Ökonomen halten jedoch eine Rückkehr zum Goldstandard nicht für zielführend, da ein solches System zu starr für moderne Volkswirtschaften sei.

Zuletzt kamen jedoch Gerüchte auf, die BRICS-Staaten (Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika) die Einführung einer gemeinsamen, goldgedeckten Währung planten, um die Dollar Hegemonie zu brechen.

Physisches Gold als Schutz vor Währungsverfall

Eine Rückkehr zu einem goldgedeckten US-Dollar oder gar die Einführung einer Golddeckung des Euros ist nicht absehbar. Dennoch kann sich jeder selbst vor einem Wert- oder Währungsverfall schützen, indem man sich die eigene persönliche Goldreserve anlegt.

Gold eignet sich hervorragend, um das ersparte Vermögen abzusichern, ist eine bewährte Form der „wirtschaftlichen Selbstverteidigung“ gegen eine fortlaufende Entwertung ihres Geldes und überdauert auch Währungskrisen (Zusammenbruch des Euro).

 

Österreich (Gulden) | 4 Florin | Goldmünze 222,90 

Wir raten unseren Kunden daher etwa 10-20% Ihres Vermögens in Gold, Silber, Platin und andere Edelmetalle anzulegen. Nicht um damit zu spekulieren, sondern als echter Absicherung vor Geldentwertung, Währungsverfall und finanzpolitischer Krisen.

Mit einer Investition in Edelmetalle sind Sie jedenfalls immer auf der sicheren Seite! Gold ist aufgrund seiner begrenzten Verfügbarkeit seit vielen Jahrhunderten ein bleibender Wert. Darauf können Sie sich verlassen!

Sie möchten Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien. Oder kaufen Sie Ihre persönliche "Goldreserve" direkt in unserem Onlineshop!
Unsere Filialen
Online Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge