BRICS Gold Currency: Is the Gold Standard Coming Back?

The dollar is still the world's reserve currency - Image credit: Unsplash/ Giorgio Trovato

In early July, the Russian broadcaster RT reported that the BRICS countries Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa are planning to introduce a common gold-backed currency.

At the next BRICS summit in South Africa in August, the countries want to announce details of the new currency. The interesting thing about the rumors so far is certainly that the BRICS currency will be backed by physical gold.

Target de-dollarization

The U.S. dollar is the leading currency in international payments. Not only gold is quoted in U.S. dollars, but above all the trade of oil in dollars, "petrodollars," cemented the hegemony of the dollar as the world currency. And this status brings enormous advantages to the USA. Not only can the U.S. very generously crank up the printing presses, but the dollar also offers opportunities to put other states under political pressure.

To escape this influence of the United States, countries such as China and Russia have an interest in establishing a "multipolar currency system" and undermining the dollar's status as the world's reserve currency. The proposed BRICS currency would primarily be a step toward achieving this goal.

Gold backed trading currency

However, the BRICS currency is likely to become less of a circulating currency - as coins and bills that citizens hold in their hands - and more of a virtual clearing unit. In other words, it will be a trading currency, similar to the ECU, which can be used to settle major international transactions.

With gold backing, however, the new currency could possibly quickly build up the necessary trust to actually establish itself as an alternative to the "dollar dictatorship. After all, if it is possible to exchange the currency for physical gold at any time, many trading partners would be happy to accept it.

In addition to the namesake BRICS, up to 40 other countries are said to have expressed interest in the new currency alliance, including Turkey, Argentina, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia.

Effects on the gold price

If the BRICS currency is indeed linked to a gold standard, it will also be exciting to see what this means for the global gold price. If the BRICS manage to put pressure on the dollar, this would probably cause the price of gold in dollars to rise massively. The role of gold as a cover for the new BRICS currency would then probably give an additional boost to the price of the precious metal.

Nevertheless, it remains to be seen whether and in what form a BRICS currency will come at all. Much is still speculation at the moment. Even if the introduction is announced at the BRICS summit in August, a new world trade currency will first have to gain acceptance. To this end, the BRICS countries must not only bundle their sometimes very different interests, but also build up a corresponding infrastructure that is as independent as possible. Only then - with or without gold backing - can an alternative currency be successful in the long term.

Introduce personal gold cover

Whatever happens on the stage of states and central banks, with a personal "gold cover" of your assets you are always right. Gold is an excellent way to protect your savings from falling values and currencies and to hedge them in the long term. We always advise our clients to invest about 10-20% of their assets in gold, silver, platinum and other precious metals.

Wiener Philharmoniker EUR | 1 Unze | 2024 | Goldmünze 1.946,20 

Gold has been a lasting value for many centuries due to its limited availability. You can rely on that!

You want to buy or sell gold?

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our 3 branches in Vienna. Or buy your personal "gold reserve" directly in our online store!
Our branches
Online Shop

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Goldwährung der BRICS: Kommt der Goldstandard zurück?

Noch ist der Dollar die Weltleitwährung - Bildnachweis: Unsplash/ Giorgio Trovato

Anfang Juli meldete der russische Sender RT, dass die BRICS-Staaten Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika die Einführung einer gemeinsamen, goldgedeckten Währung planen.

Beim nächsten Gipfeltreffen der BRICS im August in Südafrika wollen die Staaten demnach Details zur neuen Währung bekanntgeben. Das Interessante an den bisherigen Gerüchten ist dabei sicherlich, dass die BRICS-Währung mit physischem Gold gedeckt sein soll.

Ziel De-Dollarisierung

Der US-Dollar ist die Leitwährung im internationalen Zahlungsverkehr. Nicht nur Gold wird in US-Dollar notiert, vor allem der Handel von Öl in Dollar, „Petrodollar“, zementierte die Hegemonie des Dollars als Weltwährung. Und dieser Status bringt den USA enorme Vorteile. Nicht nur können die USA sehr großzügig die Druckerpressen anwerfen, auch bietet der Dollar Möglichkeiten andere Staaten politisch unter Druck zu setzen.

Um sich diesem Einfluss der Vereinigten Staaten zu entziehen, haben Länder wie China und Russland ein Interesse ein “multipolares Währungssystem” zu etablieren und den Status des Dollars als Weltreservewährung zu untergraben. Die geplante BRICS-Währung wäre in erster Linie ein Schritt, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen.

Goldgedeckte Handelswährung

Die BRICS Währung dürfte aber weniger eine Umlaufwährung werden – als Münzen und Scheine, die der Bürger in der Hand hält, sondern vielmehr eine virtuelle Verrechnungseinheit. Also eine Handelswährung, ähnlich dem ECU, mit dem internationale Großgeschäfte abgewickelt werden können.

Durch eine Golddeckung könnte die neue Währung aber womöglich schnell das nötige Vertrauen aufbauen, um sich tatsächlich als Alternative zur „Dollardiktatur“ zu etablieren. Denn wenn der Umtausch in physisches Gold jederzeit möglich ist, würden viele Handelspartner die Währung gerne akzeptieren.

Neben den namensgebenden BRICS sollen bis zu 40 weitere Staaten Interesse am neuen Währungsbund geäußert haben, darunter die Türkei, Argentinien, Ägypten, die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate und Saudi-Arabien.

Auswirkungen auf den Goldpreis

Falls die BRICS-Währung tatsächlich mit einem Goldstandard gekoppelt sein sollte, wird auch spannend was das für den weltweiten Goldpreis bedeutet.  Sollten es die BRICS schaffen den Dollar unter Druck zu setzen, würde das den Goldpreis in Dollar vermutlich massiv steigen lassen. Die Rolle von Gold zur Deckung für die neue BRICS-Währung würde den Preis für das Edelmetall dann wohl zusätzlich beflügeln.

Dennoch bleibt abzuwarten, ob und welcher Form eine BRICS-Währung überhaupt kommt. Vieles ist momentan noch Spekulation. Selbst wenn im August am BRICS-Gipfel die Einführung verkündet wird, muss sich eine neue Welthandels-Währung dann erst einmal durchsetzen. Dazu müssen die BRICS-Länder nicht nur ihre mitunter sehr unterschiedlichen Interessen bündeln, sondern auch eine entsprechende, möglichst unabhängige Infrastruktur aufbauen. Nur dann kann – mit oder ohne Golddeckung – eine Alternativwährung langfristig erfolgreich sein.

Persönliche Golddeckung einführen

Was immer auch auf der Bühne der Staaten und Zentralbanken passiert, mit einer persönlichen „Golddeckung“ ihres Vermögens liegen Sie immer richtig. Gold eignet sich hervorragend, um Ihr Erspartes vor Wert- und Währungsverfall zu schützen und langfristig abzusichern. Wir raten unseren Kunden stets circa 10-20% Ihres Vermögens in Gold, Silber, Platin und andere Edelmetalle anzulegen.

Wiener Philharmoniker EUR | 1 Unze | 2024 | Goldmünze 2.246,90 

Gold ist aufgrund seiner begrenzten Verfügbarkeit seit vielen Jahrhunderten ein bleibender Wert. Darauf können Sie sich verlassen!

Sie möchten Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer 3 Filialen in Wien. Oder kaufen Sie Ihre persönliche "Goldreserve" direkt in unserem Onlineshop!
Unsere Filialen
Online Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge