Coins of the Latin Mint Union

The Latin Mint Union of 1865 © Own image

First attempts at a common currency

The euro is by no means the first common European currency. As early as the 19th century, several European countries attempted to form a common European currency with the Latin Monetary Union (Union monétaire latine).

The Latin Coinage Union of 1865

In 1865, the countries of France, Switzerland, Belgium and Italy joined together in Paris to form the Latin Monetary Union. In their "Convention Monétaire", they agreed to coordinate the fineness, weight, size and nominal values of their coins in the future. In 1868, Greece also officially joined the Minting Union.

The goal of the Latin Monetary Union was to standardize the currencies of the participating states so that they could be exchanged with each other on a one-for-one basis, thus facilitating trade between countries.

The participating countries therefore continued to mint coins with their own currency denominations, but these were accepted in all other countries. The official coins were therefore French and Belgian francs, Italian lire, Swiss francs, and Greek drachmas.

French 20 franc | gold coin 418,70 

In addition to the official states of the Minting Union, other European states later adopted the standards of the Minting Union. The dual monarchy of Hungary-Austria also oriented itself in all parameters to the gold coins of the Latin Union with the florin coins minted from 1870. The 8-guilder coin was equivalent to 8 florins or 20 francs, and the 4-guilder coin had the value of 4 florins or 10 francs, and are still mint by the Austrian Mint today.

Austria (florin) | 4 florin | gold coin 215,30 

Bimetallism with gold & silver coins

In addition to rules on issuance and acceptance, the treaties of the Latin Coinage Union mainly specified how the denominations of the coins should be, determined gold and silver content and weight, and set the value ratio of the two metals.

Gold coins with denominations of 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5 francs were issued with an alloy of 900/1000 gold. The largest silver coin of 5 francs had a fineness of 900/1000 silver, while smaller silver coins with denominations of 2 francs, 1 franc, 0.5 francs and 0.2 francs had a fineness of only 835/1000 silver.

The gold-silver ratio thus corresponded to a ratio of 1 to 15.5, meaning that two silver 5-franc pieces (= 45 grams of fine silver) were equivalent to one gold 10-franc piece (= 2.9032 grams of fine gold).

Gold coins of the Mint Union

Whether francs, franc, lira or drachma, all gold coins of the Latin Monetary Union came in the following denominations:

 Metal
 Nominal value
 Weight (g)
 Diameter (mm)
 Fineness
Gold 100 32,258 35 900/1000
50 16,129 28
20 6,4516 21
10 3,2258 19
5 1,6129 17

 

Silver coins of the Mint Union

The silver coins of the Union Monétaire Latine also followed a uniform denomination, even if the currency denomination differed:

Metal
Nominal value
Weight (g)
Diameter (mm)
Fineness
Silver 5 25 37 900/1000
2 10 27 835/1000
1 5 23
0,5 2,5 18
0,25 1 16

Paper money caused the end of monetary union

Because paper money was still an exotic feature when the Minting Union was founded, there was no provision in the treaty for the issue of banknotes denominated in the common currencies.
Thus, first Greece, which had declared national bankruptcy in1893, soon began to issue only paper money (having previously minted coins with inferior alloys). After virtually all countries began issuing paper money in enormous quantities at the beginning of World War I, the treaty was suspended in 1914. Only Switzerland had finally adhered to the common rules. On January 1, 1927, the Swiss finally became the last country in the Union to no longer accept the coins of the other countries as means of payment.

Latin Mint Union bullion gold coins

Vreneli | 20 Swiss franc | gold coin 415,30 

The gold coins of the Mint Union are appreciated both by collectors and investors. Because of the high mintage and the standardized fineness of 900/1000 gold, especially the French 20 gold francs with Marianne or Napoleon, the Swiss Helvetia and Vreneli gold coins, but also old Italian gold lira of the LMU are excellent investment coins.

They are traded close to the price of gold and can be bought and sold at precious metal dealers and sometimes at banks.

You want to buy or sell gold?

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna or visit our online store.
Our branches
To the store

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Münzen der Lateinischen Münzunion

Die Lateinische Münzunion von 1865 © Eigenes Bild

Erste Versuche einer gemeinsamen Währung

Der Euro ist bei weitem nicht die erste gemeinschaftliche europäische Währung. Bereits im 19.Jahrhundert versuchten mehrere europäische Länder mit der Lateinischen Münzunion (Union monétaire latine) eine gemeinsame europäische Währung zu bilden.

Die Lateinische Münzunion von 1865

Im Jahr 1865 schlossen sich die Länder Frankreich, Schweiz, Belgien und Italien in Paris zur Lateinischen Münzunion zusammen. Sie vereinbarten dabei in ihrer „Convention Monétaire“ sich künftig bezüglich des Feingehalts, des Gewichtes, Größe und Nominalwerte Ihrer Münzen abzustimmen. 1868 trat auch Griechenland offiziell der Münzunion bei.

Das Ziel der Lateinischen Münzunion war es die Währungen der teilnehmenden Staaten so zu standardisieren, dass die miteinander im Verhältnis 1:1 getauscht werden konnten, um so den Handel zwischen den Ländern zu vereinfachen.

Die teilnehmenden Länder prägten daher zwar weiterhin Münzen mit eigenen Währungsbezeichnungen, diese wurden aber in allen anderen Ländern akzeptiert. Die offiziellen Münzen waren daher Französische und Belgische Francs, Italienische Lire, Schweizer Franken sowie Griechische Drachmen.

Französische 20 Franc | Goldmünze 429,40 

Neben den offiziellen Staaten der Münzunion übernahmen später auch weitere europäische Staaten die Normen der Münzunion. Auch die Doppelmonarchie Ungarn-Österreich orientierte sich mit den ab 1870 geprägten Gulden-Münzen in allen Parametern an den Goldmünzen der Lateinischen Union. Die 8-Gulden-Münze entsprach 8 Florin bzw. 20 Franken und die 4-Gulden-Münze hatte den Wert von 4 Florin oder 10 Franken und werden von der Münze Österreich bis heute nachgeprägt.

Österreich (Gulden) | 4 Florin | Goldmünze 220,80 

Bimetallismus mit Gold & Silbermünzen

Neben Regeln zur Ausgabe und zur Akzeptanz wurden in den Verträgen der Lateinischen Münzunion vor allem festgelegt, wie die Stückelung der Münzen aussehen sollte, Gold- und Silbergehalt sowie Gewicht bestimmt und das Wertverhältnis der beiden Metalle festgelegt.

Goldmünzen mit den Nennwerten 100, 50, 20, 10 und 5 Francs wurden mit einer Legierung von 900/1000 Gold ausgegeben. Die größte Silbermünze mit 5 Francs hatte einen Feingehalt von 900/1000 Silber, kleinere Silbermünzen mit Nennwerten von 2 Francs, 1 Francs, 0,5 Francs und 0,2 Francs dagegen nur mehr 835/1000 Silber.

Die Gold-Silber-Ratio entsprach so einem Verhältnis von 1 zu 15,5. Damit entsprachen zwei silberne 5-Franc-Stücke (= 45 Gramm Feinsilber) einem goldenen 10-Francs-Stück (= 2,9032 Gramm Feingold).

Goldmünzen der Münzunion

Egal ob Francs, Franken, Lire oder Drachmen – alle Goldmünzen der Lateinischen Münzunion gab es in folgender Stückelung:

 Metall
 Nominalwert
 Gewicht (g)
 Durchmesser (mm)
 Feingehalt
Gold 100 32,258 35 900/1000
50 16,129 28
20 6,4516 21
10 3,2258 19
5 1,6129 17

 

Silbermünzen der Münzunion

Auch die Silbermünzen der Union Monétaire Latine folgten einer einheitlichen Stückelung, auch wenn sich die Währungsbezeichnung unterschied:

Metall
Nominalwert
Gewicht (g)
Durchmesser (mm)
Feingehalt
Silber 5 25 37 900/1000
2 10 27 835/1000
1 5 23
0,5 2,5 18
0,25 1 16

Papiergeld sorgte für Ende der Währungsunion

Weil Papiergeld bei der Gründung der Münzunion noch eine exotische Besonderheit war, gab es im Vertragswerk keine Regelung für die Ausgabe von Banknoten, die auf die gemeinsamen Währungen lautete.
So begann zunächst Griechenland, das1893 den Staatsbankrott erklärt hatte, bald nur mehr Papiergeld auszugeben (nachdem es zuvor schon Münzen mit minderwertigen Legierungen geprägt hatte). Nachdem zu Beginn des ersten Weltkriegs quasi alle Länder begannen Papiergeld in enormen Mengen auszugeben, wurde der Vertrag 1914 ausgesetzt. Nur mehr die Schweiz hatte sich zuletzt an die gemeinsamen Regeln gehalten. Mit dem 1. Januar 1927 akzeptierten schließlich auch die Eidgenossen als letztes Land der Union die Münzen der anderen Länder nicht mehr als Zahlungsmittel.

Goldmünzen der Lateinischen Münzunion als Anlagemünzen

Vreneli | 20 Schweizer Franken | Goldmünze 425,90 

Die Goldmünzen der Münzunion werden sowohl von Sammlern als auch von Anlegern geschätzt. Denn aufgrund der hohen Auflage und dem standardisierten Feingehalt von 900/1000 Gold eigenen sich vor allem die französischen 20 Goldfrancs mit Marianne oder Napoleon, die Schweizer Helvetia und Vreneli Goldmünzen, aber auch alte italienische Gold-Lira der LMU hervorragend als Anlagemünzen.

Sie werden nah am Goldpreis gehandelt und können bei Edelmetallhändlern und teilweise auch bei Banken gekauft und verkauft werden.

Sie möchten Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien oder besuchen Sie unsere Online-Shop.
Unsere Filialen
Zum Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge