Bullion coins or bullion coins

Bullion coins © Own image

Not every coin is suitable for investors

Coins that are made of precious metals, such as gold, silver, platinum or palladium, and also have a mintage number are called bullion coins. A classic bullion coin comes from a uniform minting series. Another term for bullion coins is "bullioncoins", which is derived from the English word "bullion" for "ingot".

Cost and value of a bullion coin

The cost of a bullion coin is composed as follows: First, the pure material value is calculated. To this is added a small surcharge that covers the cost of minting. Therefore, the price is always a bit higher than that of precious metal bars.

The value of the coin is based on the current market prices for the respective precious metal. The nominal value, which is always lower than the actual material value at the time of issue, guarantees that the coin comes from a nationally legitimate mint. This security is not available when purchasing medals.

Things to know about bullion coins or bullion coins

Bullion coins can theoretically be used as legal tender, but this is not common, because the face value is below the actual value of the coin. In the case of modern bullion coins, on the one hand you can find reprints of old curant coins and on the other hand coins with new motifs from the modern era.

For some coins, an annual change of motifs is common. Passionate collectors are happy about this, but from the investor's point of view, the change of motifs may also bring a disadvantage. Therefore, if you want to invest your money in coins, you should choose selected bullion coins.

Buy typical bullion coins

If you want to buy bullion coins for financial security, you usually go for coins whose motifs have remained unchanged since the first issue: Highly recommended are e.g. Vienna PhilharmonicDucats, Krugerrand, Maple Leaf or the American Eagle coins are highly recommended.

American Eagle | 1 Ounce | Gold Coin 2.260,90 

Recently, we have also noticed an increased demand for palladium coins. With 40,000 palladium coins minted, the Maple Leaf coin takes a leading role at the moment.

Silver Maple Leaf
Maple Leaf | 1 Ounce | Palladium Coin 1.120,70 

You want to buy or sell gold?

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna or visit our online store.
Our branches
To the store

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Anlagemünzen bzw. Bullionmünzen

Anlagemünzen bzw. Bullionmünzen © Eigenes Bild

Nicht jede Münze eignet sich für Anleger

Münzen, die aus Edelmetall, wie z. B. Gold, Silber, Platin oder Palladium hergestellt werden und zusätzlich eine Prägungszahl besitzen, werden als Anlagemünzen bezeichnet. Eine klassische Anlagemünze stammt aus einer einheitlichen Prägeserie. Eine andere Bezeichnung für Anlagemünzen ist “Bullionmünzen“, was sich von dem englischen Wort „bullion” für “Barren” herleitet.

Kosten und Wert einer Anlagemünze

Die Kosten für eine Anlagemünze setzen sich folgendermaßen zusammen: Zum einen wird der reine Materialwert berechnet. Dazu addiert sich ein geringer Aufschlag, der die Kosten der Prägung deckt. Daher liegt der Preis stets ein Stück über dem von Edelmetallbarren.

Der Wert der Münze orientiert sich an den jeweils aktuellen Börsenkursen für das jeweilige Edelmetall. Die Nennwertangabe, welche beim Zeitpunkt der Ausgabe stets unter dem tatsächlichen Materialwert liegt, garantiert, dass die Münze aus einer national legitimierten Prägestelle stammt. Diese Sicherheit hat man beim Erwerb von Medaillen nicht.

Wissenswertes über Anlagemünzen bzw. Bullionmünzen

Anlagemünzen können theoretisch als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel genutzt werden, was aber nicht üblich ist, da der Nennwert unterhalb des tatsächlichen Wertes der Münze liegt. Bei modernen Bullionmünzen findet man einerseits Nachprägungen alter Kurantmünzen und andererseits Münzen mit neuen Motiven aus der Moderne.

Bei einigen Münzen ist ein jährlicher Wechsel der Motive üblich. Leidenschaftliche Sammler freuen sich darüber, doch aus Anlegersicht bringt der Wechsel der Motive unter Umständen auch einen Nachteil mit sich. Wenn Sie Ihr Geld in Münzen anlegen wollen, sollten Sie sich deshalb für ausgewählte Bullionmünzen entscheiden.

Kaufen Sie typische Anlagemünzen

Möchte man Anlagemünzen zur finanziellen Absicherung kaufen, greift man in der Regel zu Münzen, deren Motive seit der Erstausgabe unverändert geblieben sind: Sehr empfehlenswert sind z. B. Wiener PhilharmonikerDukatenKrügerrand, Maple Leaf oder auch die American Eagle Münzen.

American Eagle | 1 Unze | Goldmünze 2.324,60 

In letzter Zeit stellen wir auch eine verstärkte Nachfrage nach Palladiummünzen feststellen. Mit 40.000 geprägten Palladiummünzen nimmt die Maple Leaf Münze im Moment eine führende Rolle ein.

Silber Maple Leaf
Maple Leaf | 1 Unze | Palladiummünze 1.177,80 

Sie möchten Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien oder besuchen Sie unsere Online-Shop.
Unsere Filialen
Zum Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge