Banking crisis lifts gold price to over 2000 dollars

UBS & Credit Suisse headquarters on Zurich's Paradeplatz - Photo credit: Claudio Schwarz / Unsplash

"Too big to fail" and still broke! After the supposedly "small" US banks Silicon Valley Bank and SignatureBank, the first major European bank had to be rescued over the weekend. The Swiss UBS takes over the competitor Credit Suisse for 3 billion francs, after the Swiss government and the Swiss National Bank (SNB) had urged the big bank to do so.

The action was intended to calm the global financial markets. Investors, however, remain nervous. The gold price shot up further and cracked the 2000$ mark on Monday (as of 20 March 2023).

Credit Suisse - What Happened?

Following various scandals and most recently the biggest loss since 2008, Credit Suisse has lost massive value in recent months.

Despite efforts to restructure the bank, it lost the confidence of investors and customers alike. They recently withdrew hundreds of billions in deposits.

When the majority owner, Saudi National Bank, refused to inject any more money, Credit Suisse finally began to wobble.

The big problem is that Credit Suisse is one of the 30 institutions worldwide that are considered "too big to fail. This means that if one of these banks goes bankrupt, it will cause enormous distortions in the global financial system and damage entire national economies.

The takeover of Credit Suisse by its major competitor UBS probably only came about under massive pressure from the Swiss government and the SNB. They, in turn, were probably pressured by international players (ECB, FED, Bank of England,...) to intervene. However, the SNB and the state have to support the merger with a total of 109 billion francs in guarantees and aid.

Nervousness makes gold attractive

Investors worldwide are extremely nervous. The rescue of a bank that is considered to be of global systemic importance has the financial markets trembling in anticipation of a new global banking and financial crisis. If another domino now falls, this could actually lead to a new downward spiral and a collapse of the financial system. But while the stock markets are dominated by deep red figures, the gold price is exploding:

Gold price as of March 20: After the UBS-Credit Suisse deal gold rises to over 2000 dollars or 1884 euros per troy ounce

Gold is once again living up to its reputation as a safe haven. Due to their long-term stability of value, precious metals are ideal protection against crises.

On Monday morning after the UBS Credit Suisse deal, the gold price rose to an interim 2006.86 dollars per troy ounce or 1884.78 euros / troy ounce.

Especially in times of systemic and political crises, demand for gold usually increases as investors hedge their assets with the precious metal.

Vienna Philharmonic 1 Ounce 100 Euro
Vienna Philharmonic EUR | 1 Ounce | Div. vintages | Gold coin 2.183,70 

Central bank dilemma

Central banks and governments are in a quandary: Fighting inflation or saving the system? To combat high inflation, central banks must raise key interest rates. The ideas behind this: Higher interest rates make loans more expensive, thus taking money out of the market and making the currency "worth more" again.

However, the exact opposite was applied against the banking and financial crisis in 2008. Zero interest rates and quantitative easing provided cheap money to bail out banks. More than a decade of this laissez-faire monetary policy, however, led to the high inflation figures.

Already last year, the ECB, FED & Co had to find a middle way with their interest rate policy in order to effectively fight inflation but at the same time not to strangle the economy.

With the banking crisis looming, this fine line is becoming an even more difficult balancing act. Will central banks and governments continue to fight inflation when, at the same time, the entire financial system is at risk?

 

Thesis: Bank bailout suspends interest rate hikes

For about a year now, the US Federal Reserve and the European Central Bank have been continuously raising their key interest rates. After years of zero interest rate policy, the interest rate turnaround is intended to curb record inflation.

Last week, the ECB raised the key interest rate by 0.5 percentage points as announced. However, the Fed, whose interest rate decision is scheduled for this week, is already under pressure not to raise interest rates by 0.5 percent as planned. Instead, analysts expect only 0.25 percent or even a pause in interest rates.

If the fight against inflation is confronted with the risk of a system collapse, the responsible persons will probably decide in favor of the system!

Another interest rate turnaround, billions in liability and renewed bail-outs of systemically important banks are therefore no longer unlikely. No one can rule out a repeat of 2008 - perhaps even on an even larger scale.

Gold, the only thing that still shines?

Those who have invested parts of their assets in gold can probably look to the future with greater relaxation.

If new trillions are soon pumped into the system to rescue banks (and, as a consequence, entire states), we can expect longer-lasting and higher inflation figures: Money will then become worth even less even faster.

Gold, on the other hand, is considered the most stable currency of all. Especially in times of high advancing currency devaluation, gold offers security and thus serves as an inflation anchor.

Who understands gold as a long-term investment, is always on the safe side with the purchase of gold! Due to its limited availability, the precious metal is a lasting value. This has been the case for centuries and will remain so for a long time. You can rely on that!

You want to buy or sell gold?

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna, buy directly in our online store or use our purchase service.
To our branches
Online Shop

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Bankenkrise hievt Goldpreis auf über 2000 Dollar

UBS & Credit Suisse Zentralen am Zürcher Paradeplatz - Bildnachweis: Claudio Schwarz / Unsplash

“Too big to fail” und trotzdem pleite! Nach den vermeintlich “kleinen” US-Banken Silicon Valley Bank und SignatureBank musste am Wochenende die erste europäische Großbank gerettet werden. Die Schweizer UBS übernimmt die Konkurrentin Credit Suisse für 3 Milliarden Franken, nachdem die Schweizer Regierung und die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) die Großbank dazu gedrängt hatten.

Die Aktion sollte die weltweiten Finanzmärkte beruhigen. Die Anleger aber bleiben nervös. Der Goldpreis schoss weiter in die Höhe und knackte am Montag (Stand 20.März 2023) die 2000$ Marke.

Credit Suisse – Was ist geschehen?

Nach verschiedenen Skandalen und zuletzt dem größten Verlust seit 2008 hat die Credit Suisse in den letzten Monaten massiv an Wert verloren.

Trotz der Bemühungen die Bank umzustrukturieren, verlor man das Vertrauen der Anleger und auch der Kunden. Diese zogen zuletzt hunderte Milliarden an Einlagen ab.

Als nun der Mehrheitseigentümer, die Saudi National Bank, kein weiteres Geld mehr zuschießen wollte, begann die Credit Suisse endgültig zu wackeln.

Das große Problem dabei ist, das die Credit Suisse zu jenen 30 Instituten weltweit gezählt wurde, die als „too big to fail“ gelten. Bedeutet, geht eine diese Banken bankrott, hat das enorme Verwerfungen im globalen Finanzsystem und die Schädigung ganzer Volkswirtschaften zur Folge.

Die Übernahme der Credit Suisse durch die große Konkurrentin UBS kam wohl nur auf massiven Druck der Schweizer Regierung und der SNB zustande. Die wiederum wurden zuvor wohl von internationalen Playern (EZB, FED, Bank of England,…)  dazu gedrängt einzugreifen. Die Nationalbank und der Staat müssen den Zusammenschluss aber mit insgesamt 109 Milliarden Franken an Garantieren und Hilfen unterstützen.

Nervosität macht Gold attraktiv

Investoren weltweit sind extrem nervös. Die Rettung einer als global systemrelevanten Bank lässt die Finanzmärkte vor einer neuen globalen Banken- und Finanzkrise zittern. Fällt nun ein weiterer Dominostein könnte das tatsächlich in eine neue Abwärtsspirale und zu einem Kollaps des Finanzsystems führen. Doch während die Börsen von tief roten Zahlen dominiert werden, explodiert der Goldpreis:

Goldpreis mit Stand 20.März: Nach dem UBS-Credit Suisse Deal steigt Gold auf über 2000 Dollar bzw, 1884 Euro pro Feinunze

Gold macht seinem Ruf als sicherer Hafen gerade wieder alle Ehre. Durch ihre langfristige Wertbeständigkeit eigenen sich Edelmetalle als idealer Schutz vor Krisen.

Am Montagvormittag nach dem UBS Credit Suisse Deal stieg der Goldpreis auf zwischenzeitlich 2006,86 Dollar pro Feinunze bzw. 1884,78 Euro / Feinunze.

Vor allem in Zeiten systemischer und politischer Krisen steigt in der Regel die Nachfrage nach Gold, da Anleger ihr Vermögen mit dem Edelmetall absichern.

Wiener Philharmoniker 1 Unze 100 Euro
Wiener Philharmoniker EUR | 1 Unze | Div. Jahrgänge | Goldmünze 1.932,90 

Zwickmühle der Zentralbanken

Die Zentralbanken und Regierungen befinden sich in einer Zwickmühle: Inflationsbekämpfung oder Systemrettung? Um die hohe Inflation zu bekämpfen, müssen die Notenbanken die Leitzinsen erhöhen. Die Ideen dahinter: Durch höhere Zinsen werden Kredite teurerer, somit wird dem Markt Geld entzogen und die Währung wieder „mehr wert“.

Gegen die Banken- und Finanzkrise 2008 wendete man aber das genaue Gegenteil an. Nullzinsen und Quantitive Easing sorgten für billiges Geld, mit dem man Banken retten konnte. Mehr als einem Jahrzehnt dieser Laissez-Faire-Geldpolitik führte aber genau das zu den hohen Inflationszahlen.

Bereits im letzten Jahr mussten EZB, FED & Co mit ihrer Zinspolitik einen Mittelweg finden, um die Inflation wirksam zu bekämpfen aber gleichzeitig die Wirtschaft nicht abzuwürgen.

Mit der aufziehenden Bankenkrise wird dieser schmale Grat zu einem noch schwierigeren Balanceakt. Werden Zentralbanken und Regierungen weiter die Inflation weiter bekämpfen, wenn gleichzeitig das ganze Finanzsystem gefährdet ist?

 

These: Bankenrettung setzt Zinserhöhungen aus

Seit etwa einem Jahr heben die amerikanische FED und die europäische EZB ihre Leitzinsen kontinuierlich an. Nach Jahren der Nullzinspolitik soll die Zinswende die Rekordinflation bremsen.

Noch letzte Woche erhöhte die EZB den Leitzins wie angekündigt um 0,5 Prozentpunkte. Die FED, deren Zinsentscheid in dieser Woche angesetzt ist, steht jedoch bereits unter Druck die Zinsen eben nicht wie vorgesehen ebenfalls um 0,5 Prozent zu erhöhen. Stattdessen rechnen Analysen mit nur 0,25 Prozent oder sogar einer Zinspause.

Steht der Inflationsbekämpfung das Risiko eines Systemkollaps gegenüber, werden sich die Verantwortlichen wohl für das System entscheiden!

Eine erneute Zinswende, Milliardenhaftungen und erneute Bail-Outs systemrelevanter Banken sind daher nicht mehr unwahrscheinlich. Eine Wiederholung von 2008 – vielleicht sogar in noch größerem Ausmaße – kann niemand ausschließen.

Gold, das einzige, das noch glänzt?

Wer Teile seines Vermögens in Gold angelegt hat, darf wohl entspannter in die Zukunft schauen.

Denn werden zur Rettung von Banken (und in Folge wieder ganzer Staaten) bald neue Billionen ins System gepumpt, dann können wir uns auf länger anhaltende und höhere Inflationszahlen einstellen: Geld wird dann noch schneller noch weniger wert.

Gold dagegen gilt als die stabilste Währung überhaupt. Gerade in Zeiten hoher voranschreitender Geldentwertung bietet Gold Sicherheit und dient somit als Inflationsanker.

Wer Gold als langfristige Anlage versteht, ist mit dem Kauf von Gold immer auf der sicheren Seite! Aufgrund seiner begrenzten Verfügbarkeit ist das Edelmetall ein bleibender Wert. Das ist seit Jahrhunderten so und wird auch noch lange so bleiben. Darauf können Sie sich verlassen!

Sie möchten Gold kaufen oder verkaufen?

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien, kaufen Sie direkt in unserem Onlineshop oder nutzen Sie unseren Ankaufsservice.
Zu unseren Filialen
Online Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge