Gold as retirement provision

Gold can provide financial security and freedom in retirement. / Image credit: Midjourney

Today, no one in Austria should rely on the state pension alone. Individual initiative is required for a secure pension. Gold can play a key role in retirement planning and provide the desired financial security and freedom in old age.

The pension hole threatens golden years

The Austrian welfare state is certainly one of the most generous in the world. In Austria, therefore, most people still rely completely on the state pension system as a matter of course.

But there is an ever-widening gap between payments into and out of the pension system. Fewer and fewer young working people have to pay for the pensions of more and more old people.

Currently, the "pension gap" in Austria is around 25 billion euros, which the state will have to pay in from taxpayers' money in 2023. And this imbalance in the pension system will continue to worsen in the coming years: The strong "baby boomer" cohorts are retiring, increasing life expectancy means longer periods of entitlement, long-term unemployment means fewer contributors, ...

For this reason, all Austrians should take a closer look at their own old-age provision. Additional, private provisions for the retirement years to supplement the state pension are unavoidable today. The following applies: The earlier you start to take care of your old-age provision, the better.

Real assets as an important pillar in retirement provision

Anyone wishing to make private provision for old age should think long-term and focus on secure forms of investment. Security can be ensured above all through tangible assets that protect against inflation and potential currency reforms.

The classic tangible asset is certainly real estate. But buying a condominium or a house - whether to live in it rent-free or to generate rental income - simply doesn't pay off for most people. This is where the strengths of precious metals come into play. Because with gold and silver, even smaller sums can be invested sensibly in tangible assets.

Vienna Philharmonic 1 Ounce 100 Euro
Vienna Philharmonic EUR | 1 Ounce | Div. vintages | Gold coin 2.286,90 

Secure pension with gold

For retirement planning, you should buy gold in the form of bullion coins and bars. That is, in the form of physical gold that you can actually hold in your hands. For investment purposes, it is therefore advisable to buy common bullion coins, such as the domestic Golden Vienna Philharmonic, the Canadian Maple Leaf coin or the Krugerrand, as well as bankable gold bars from good delivery manufacturers.

Gold Bar | Austrian Mint | 100 Gram
Austrian Mint | 100 Gram | Gold Bar 7.317,70 

Coins and bars of silver and platinum can also be used to diversify the precious metals portfolio. However, the focus for a secure pension provision should be on the purchase of gold.

In order to compensate for short-term price fluctuations, you should always buy smaller quantities of gold at regular intervals. In this way, you take advantage of the "cost-average effect" and spread your risk of possibly buying gold at an unfavorable time.

Does gold make sense as a retirement investment?

Yes, gold coins and gold bars are excellent tangible assets for making provisions for old age and not just relying on the state pension in the future.

If one observes the gold price development over a longer period of time, it becomes apparent that the gold price has risen enormously. In the long term, the gold price has always been able to compensate for temporary setbacks. Anyone who invested in gold 30 years ago can enjoy a fivefold increase in value today.

But be careful! Although gold is considered a very safe investment, the precious metal does not yield a regular return, as do shares, funds and other securities.
Therefore, you should not bet your entire retirement provision on precious metals, but diversify here as well. It is recommended not to hold more than 10-20% of the assets in precious metals.

Note: Gold does not pay interest, but you can sell your precious metal at a higher price in the future!

Do you want to buy gold for retirement planning?

Gold is an excellent way to hedge your assets and can be seen as a crisis-proof tangible asset to counterbalance riskier investments in your retirement portfolio.

Let our experts advise you!

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna or visit our online store.
Our branches
Online Shop

You might also be interested in

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

Gold als Altersvorsorge

Gold kann für finanzielle Sicherheit und Freiheit im Alter sorgen. / Bildnachweis: Midjourney

Auf die staatliche Pension allein sollte sich in Österreich heute niemand mehr verlassen. Für eine sichere Pension ist Eigeninitiative gefragt. Gold kann bei der Altersvorsorge eine tragende Rolle spielen und für die gewünschte finanzielle Sicherheit und Freiheit im Alter sorgen.

Das Pensionsloch bedroht goldene Jahre

Der österreichische Sozialstaat gehört sicher zu den großzügigsten der Welt. In Österreich verlassen sich daher die meisten Menschen noch immer ganz selbstverständlich vollkommen auf das staatliche Pensionssystem.

Doch es gibt eine immer größer werdende Lücke zwischen Ein- und Auszahlungen ins Pensionssystem. Immer weniger junge arbeitende Menschen, müssen für die Pensionen immer mehr alter Menschen aufkommen.

Aktuell klafft das „Pensionsloch“ in Österreich bei etwa 25 Milliarden Euro, die der Staat 2023 aus Steuergeldern zuschießen muss. Und diese Schieflage des Pensionssystems wird sich in den kommenden Jahren weiter verschlimmern: Die starken „Babyboomer“ Jahrgänge gehen in Pension, die steigende Lebenserwartung bedeutet längere Bezugszeiten, Langzeitarbeitslosigkeit sorgt für weniger Beitragszahler, …

Daher sollten sich alle Österreicherinnen und Österreicher verstärkt mit der eignen Altersvorsorge auseinandersetzen. Zusätzliche, private Vorsorgemaßnahmen für die Pensionsjahre, um die staatliche Rente aufzubessern, sind heute unumgänglich. Dabei gilt: Je früher Sie beginnen sich um Ihre Altersvorsorge zu kümmern, desto besser.

Sachwerte als wichtige Säule in der Altersvorsorge

Wer privat für das Alter vorsorgen möchte, sollte langfristig denken und auf sichere Anlageformen setzen. Sicherheit kann dabei vor allem durch Sachwerte gewährleistet werden, die vor Geldentwertung durch die Inflation und potenzielle Währungsreformen schützen.

Die Klassiker unter den Sachwerten sind dabei sicherlich Immobilien. Aber sich eine Eigentumswohnung oder ein Haus zu kaufen – sei es, um mietfrei darin zu wohnen oder um Mieteinnahmen zu generieren, geht sich für die meisten Menschen einfach nicht aus. Hier kommen die Stärken von Edelmetallen zum Tragen. Denn mit Gold und Silber kann man auch kleinere Summen sinnvoll in Sachwerte investieren.

Wiener Philharmoniker 1 Unze 100 Euro
Wiener Philharmoniker EUR | 1 Unze | Div. Jahrgänge | Goldmünze 2.303,00 

Sichere Pension mit Gold

Zur Altersvorsorge sollten Sie Gold in Form von Anlagemünzen und Barren kaufen. Also in Form von physischem Gold, das Sie tatsächlich in Händen halten können. Zur Anlage empfiehlt sich daher der Kauf gängiger Bullionmünzen, wie dem heimischen Goldenen Wiener Philharmoniker, der kanadischen Maple Leaf Münze oder dem Krugerrand, sowie der Kauf bankhandelsfähiger Goldbarren von Good-Delivery-Herstellern.

Goldbarren | Münze Österreich | 100 Gramm
Münze Österreich | 100 Gramm | Goldbarren 7.324,20 

Auch Münzen und Barren aus Silber und Platin können zur Diversifizierung des Edelmetallportfolios genutzt werden. Der Fokus für eine sichere Pensionsvorsorge sollte aber auf dem Kauf von Gold liegen.

Um kurzfristige Kursschwankungen auszugleichen, sollten Sie beim Goldkauf immer wieder in regelmäßigen Abständen kleinere Mengen nachkaufen. So machen Sie sich den „Cost-Average-Effekt“ zu Nutze und streuen Ihr Risiko, womöglich zu einem ungünstigen Zeitpunkt Gold zu kaufen.

Ist Gold als Altersvorsorge sinnvoll?

Ja, Goldmünzen und Goldbarren eigenen sich als Sachwerte hervorragend, um für das Alter vorzusorgen und später einmal nicht nur auf die gesetzliche Rente angewiesen zu sein.

Beobachtet man die Goldpreisentwicklung über einen längeren Zeitraum, zeigt sich, dass der Goldpreis enorm gestiegen ist. Zwischenzeitliche Rücksetzer konnte der Goldkurs langfristig stets ausgleichen. Wer vor 30 Jahren in Gold investiert hat, kann sich heute über eine Verfünffachung des Wertes freuen.

Doch Vorsicht! Zwar gilt Gold als sehr sichere Anlage, jedoch wirft das Edelmetall keine laufende Rendite ab, wie es etwa Aktien, Fonds und andere Wertpapiere tun.
Daher sollten Sie nicht Ihre gesamte Altersvorsorge auf Edelmetalle setzen, sondern auch hier diversifizieren. Es empfiehlt sich nicht mehr als 10-20% des Vermögens in Edelmetallen zu halten.

Merke: Gold zahlt keine Zinsen, Sie können Ihr Edelmetall in der Zukunft aber zu einem höheren Preis verkaufen!

Sie möchten Gold zur Pensionsvorsorge kaufen?

Gold eignet sich hervorragend zur Absicherung Ihres Vermögens und kann als krisensicherer Sachwert als Gegengewicht zu riskanteren Anlagen in Ihrem Vorsorge Portfolio gesehen werden.

Lassen Sie sich von unseren Experten beraten!

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien oder besuchen Sie unseren Online-Shop.
Unsere Filialen
Online-Shop

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge