Babenberger | 1000 ATS | gold coin

Back to the overview

887,90 

Conditionally available
Branch 1030 Sold out
Branch 1090 In stock
Branch 1220 In stock
Online Shop In stock

Activate price radar

Let us notify you when the product price is within an interesting range for you.

Price radar active at

Price radar active at

No account yet? Register now!

By creating a customer account, you will get access to exclusive services within seconds.

After creating your account you will receive a password generated for you by mail!

Customer login

Please log in to your account to use all Gold and Co services.

838,90 
Non-binding price estimate

"Babenberger | 1000 ATS | Gold Coin" marked for sale.
To the purchase basket

About this product

First Schilling Gold Coin of the Second Republic of Austria

With the 1000 Schilling Babenberger coin, a Schilling gold coin was minted for the first time in the Second Republic of Austria in 1976. Affectionately known as the "golden thousand", this bullion coin is still very present on the market today thanks to its high mintage.

When issued, the Babenberg coin had a nominal value of ATS 1,000 and was considered legal tender. Since the introduction of the euro in 2002, its market value has been measured by its fineness. The fineness 900 corresponds to 21.6 carats. The market value of Babenberg gold coins is never based on their face value. Depending on the exchange rate, the gold value of the Babenberg is a few hundred euros, while the face value translates into a value of about 72€. This corresponds approximately to the value of two ATS 500 silver coins.

Occasion of the embossing

The coin was issued on the occasion of the thousandth anniversary of the establishment of the Babenbergs. This family of margraves and dukes, originating from Upper Franconia, is considered the founding dynasty of Austria. They ruled from 976 to 1246.

The Austrian Ministry of Finance also intended to supplement the already existing mintings of the trade gold coins - ducats, florins and crowns - with a modern bullion coin. Thus, the 1,000 shilling federal gold coin may well be considered the predecessor of the Vienna Philharmonic can be regarded as a predecessor.

From October 22, 1976, the coins could be purchased at all Austrian banks and savings banks. Only a short time later, a second tranche was put on the market to satisfy the great demand. The coins from this reminting can be recognized by their slightly reddish hue, which has its origin in the changed surface treatment of the coins. A total of 1.8 million pieces were issued.

Design of the coin

The obverse of the coin features the equestrian seal of Duke Frederick II, inscribed with "976 - 1976 Installation of the Babenbergs". The reverse shows the Austrian federal eagle framed by the words "Republic of Austria". Below this is the two-line denomination. The edge of the coin is fluted and not inscribed.

Historical price development
No historical data available
More information
Weight 0,0135 kg
Series

Material

Gold

Fine weight

12,15g

Fineness

900,00

Weight

13,50g

Item number: BAB Categories: ,

We buy your old gold.

Come now for a personal, non-binding and serious consultation in one of our branches in Vienna 3, Vienna 9 or Vienna 22 or visit our online store.

News from the world of precious metals

News, background information and updates on the topics of gold & silver.

other contributions

More from Gold & Co

Price list for precious metals.

Here you can get information about precious metal prices. They refer to the daily buying and selling rates.

Our gold encyclopedia.

In the gold encyclopedia you will find information worth knowing about coins, bars and other interesting topics about gold.

Visit us.

In one of our branches in Vienna. In Währinger Straße in the 9th district, in Landstraßer Hauptstraße or in the K1 shopping center in Kagran.

Goldmünze | Babenberger | 1000 ATS

Zurück zur Übersicht

712,70 

Vorrätig
Onlineshop Vorrätig
Filiale 1090 Vorrätig
Filiale 1220 Vorrätig

Preisradar aktivieren

Lassen Sie sich von uns benachrichtigen, wenn sich der Produktpreis in einem für Sie interessanten Rahmen bewegt.

Preisradar aktiv bei

Preisradar aktiv bei

Noch kein Konto? Jetzt registrieren!

Mit Erstellung eines Kundenkontos erhalten Sie innerhalb weniger Sekunden Zugriff auf exklusive Services.

Nach Erstellung Ihres Kontos erhalten Sie per Mail ein für Sie generiertes Passwort!

Kunden-Login

Bitte melden Sie sich bei Ihrem Konto an, um alle Services von Gold und Co zu nutzen.

687,10 
Unverbindliche Preisschätzung

„Goldmünze | Babenberger | 1000 ATS“ zum Verkauf gemerkt.
Zum Ankaufskorb

Erste Schilling-Goldmünze der Zweiten Republik Österreich

Mit der 1000 Schilling Babenberger Münze wurde 1976 in der Zweiten Republik Österreich erstmals eine Schilling-Goldmünze geprägt. Liebevoll auch als “goldener Tausender” bezeichnet, ist diese Anlagemünze dank ihrer hohen Auflage auch heute noch auf dem Markt sehr präsent.

Bei der Ausgabe hatte die Babenberger Münze einen Nominalwert von 1.000 ATS und galt als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel. Seit der Einführung des Euros 2002 wird ihr Marktwert an ihrem Feingehalt gemessen. Die Feinheit 900 entspricht 21,6 Karat. Der Marktwert der Babenberger Goldmünzen richtet sich nie nach ihren Nennwert. Der Goldwert der Babenberger liegt je nach Kurs bei einigen Hundert Euro, der Nennwert ergibt umgerechnet einen Wert von rund 72€. Das entspricht circa dem Wert von zwei ATS 500 Silbermünzen.

Anlass der Prägung

Die Ausgabe der Münze erfolgte anlässlich des tausendjährigen Jubiläums der Einsetzung der Babenberger. Diese aus Oberfranken stammende Markgrafen- und Herzogsfamilie gilt als Gründungsgeschlecht Österreichs. Sie regierten von 976 bis 1246.

Auch beabsichtigte das österreichische Finanzministerium, die bereits vorhandenen Nachprägungen der Handelsgoldmünzen – Dukaten, Florin und Kronen – durch eine moderne Anlagemünze zu ergänzen. So darf die 1.000 Schilling Bundesgoldmünze durchaus als Vorgänger des Wiener Philharmoniker betrachtet werden.

Ab dem 22. Oktober 1976 konnten die Münzen bei allen österreichischen Banken und Sparkassen erworben werden. Nur kurze Zeit später wurde eine zweite Tranche auf den Markt gebracht, um die große Nachfrage befriedigen zu können. Die Münzen aus dieser Nachprägung erkennt man am leicht rötlichen Farbton, der seinen Ursprung in der veränderten Oberflächenbehandlung der Münzen hat. Insgesamt wurden 1,8 Millionen Stück aufgelegt.

Design der Münze

Auf der Vorderseite der Münze ist das Reitersiegel von Herzog Friedrich II. zu sehen, welches mit “976 – 1976 Einsetzung der Babenberger” umschrieben ist. Die Rückseite zeigt den österreichischen Bundesadler, der von dem Schriftzug “Republik Österreich” umrahmt ist. Darunter befindet sich die zweizeilige Nennwertangabe. Der Münzrand ist geriffelt und nicht beschriftet.

Keine historischen Daten vorhanden
Gewicht 0,0135 kg
Serie

Material

Gold

Feingewicht

12,15g

Feingehalt

900,00

Gewicht

13,50g

Artikelnummer: BAB Kategorien: ,

Wir kaufen Ihr Altgold.

Kommen Sie jetzt zu einem persönlichen, unverbindlichen und seriösen Beratungsgespräch in eine unserer Filialen in Wien 9 oder Wien 22 oder besuchen Sie unseren Online-Shop.

Neues aus der Welt der Edelmetalle

Neuigkeiten, Hintergrundinformationen und Aktuelles rund um die Themen Gold & Silber.

weitere beiträge

Mehr von Gold & Co

Preisliste für Edelmetalle.

Hier erhalten Sie Informationen zu den Edelmetallpreisen. Sie beziehen sich auf die tagesaktuellen An- und Verkaufskurse.

Unser Goldlexikon.

Im Gold-Lexikon finden Sie wissenswerte Informationen rund um Münzen, Barren und weitere interessante Themen über Gold.

Besuchen Sie uns.

In einer unserer beiden Filialen in Wien. In der Währinger Straße in 9.Bezirk oder im K1 Einkaufszentrum in Kagran.